Contact AFPC

Opportunities at AFPC

About AFPC

For over three decades, the American Foreign Policy Council (AFPC) has played an essential role in the U.S. foreign policy debate. Founded in 1982, AFPC is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to bringing information to those who make or influence the foreign policy of the United States and to assisting world leaders with building democracies and market economies. AFPC is widely recognized as a source of timely, insightful analysis on issues of foreign policy, and works closely with members of Congress, the Executive Branch and the policymaking community. It is staffed by noted specialists in foreign and defense policy, and serves as a valuable resource to officials in the highest levels of government.

AFPC only accepts donations from American citizens and U.S. entities.

AFPC Mission Statement

The American Foreign Policy Council seeks to advance the security and prosperity of the United States by:

  1. providing primary source information, as well as policy options, to persons and organizations who make or influence the national security and foreign policies of the United States;
  2. arranging meetings and facilitating dialogue between American Statesmen and their counterparts in other countries; and
  3. fostering the acceptance and development of representative institutions and free market economies throughout the world in a manner consistent with the Constitution, the national interest, and the values of the United States.

Our Board of Advisors

  • Amb. Paula J. Dobriansky, Ph.D
    Former Under Secretary of State
  • The Honorable Newt Gingrich
    Former Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives
  • Amb. Robert G. Joseph
    Former Under Secretary of State
  • Sen. Robert Kasten, Jr.
    Former two-term Senator from Wisconsin
  • Amb. Richard McCormack
    Former Under Secretary of State
  • The Honorable Robert "Bud" C. McFarlane
    Former National Security Advisor
  • Gov. Thomas J. Ridge
    Former Secretary of Homeland Security
  • Dr. William Schneider, Jr.
    Former Under Secretary of State
  • The Honorable R. James Woolsey
    Former CIA Director
  • The Honorable Dov Zakheim
    Former Under Secretary of Defense